Michelson too complex?

To say this straightforward: I am not a Techie. However, I know quite a few of them. I know the Ethereum smart contract language Solidity and even I can somehow understand the essence when looking at some Solidity code as it is very simple. This simplicity might come at a certain price (error prone, e.g. DAO case). I gave some Michelson code examples to my Techie friends and they were quite puzzled: its pretty complex similar to the bitcoin script. While I understand that Michelson needs to comply with high standards, wouldnt it be possible to build a much easier language in top of Michelson?

http://www.liquidity-lang.org

Michelson is not too complex, it’s too low level for human beings. It’s intended to be a compilation target. It should be compared to EVM, not Solidity. Unfortunately, DLS and the Foundation’s communication about this is very weak IMO (and even counter-productive, showing many example of human-written Michelson code), and too many people still believe you’re supposed to think and write in Michelson.

I’m not even sure that Michelson is such a great compilation target, I haven’t read much about the considerations that drove its design, beyond the uncontroversial idea that you want some form of static type-checking even at the VM level. But if the voting and protocol upgrade system work properly, it’s certainly fixable.

1 Like

To weigh in, I think Michelson is good and bad. As the one who probably wrote many of the examples you’re talking about, I can say that writing Michelson code is harder than most of the other languages I use regularly, but it is 100% doable. The difference is that the language is in a different paradigm from those that you or your friends are familiar. The same would be at least partially true if Michelson was a logic language or a probabilistic language.